audio model comparison
GPT-Live 1 vs Grok Voice 3.0
GPT-Live 1 and Grok Voice 3.0 are both current audio models, from OpenAI and xAI. GPT-Live 1 is 38% cheaper per realtime minute than Grok Voice 3.0, $0.05 vs $0.08.
- Lower price per realtime minute
- GPT-Live 1$0.05 against $0.08
- Newer release
- Grok Voice 3.0Oct 2026 against Sep 2026
Data verified October 23, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-23
Side by side
GPT-Live 1 and Grok Voice 3.0, line by line
Prices in effect today, compared at the same tier wherever both list one. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | GPT-Live 1 | Grok Voice 3.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price per realtime minute | $0.05 (better) | $0.08 |
| Specs | ||
| Provider | OpenAI | xAI |
| Release date | September 10, 2026 | October 14, 2026 |
| Access | API only | API only |
| Context window | Not reported | Not reported |
| Max output | Not reported | Not reported |
| Input | text, audio | text, audio |
| Output | text, audio | text, audio |
Cost
What each costs
Example workloads at each provider's listed rates, then every other rate either one lists. The cheaper figure in each row is highlighted.
The same work, priced
For 100 hours of realtime conversation, Grok Voice 3.0 costs 1.6 times as much as GPT-Live 1, at each provider's listed rates.
100 hours of realtime conversation
Grok Voice 3.0 costs 1.6× as much
- GPT-Live 1
- $300
- Grok Voice 3.0
- $480
| Workload or rate | GPT-Live 1 | Grok Voice 3.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Example workloads | ||
| 100 hours of realtime conversation | $300 (better) | $480 |
Verdict
When to choose each
GPT-Live 1
Where it leads
- Lower price per realtime minute, $0.05 vs $0.08
Best for
- Phone and in-app voice agents that need natural interruptions
Watch out for
- Backend reasoning and tool calls are billed separately at the configured model's rates, so real cost per minute is higher than the session rate
- OpenAI's task-success comparisons are self-reported and not reproduced independently here
Grok Voice 3.0
Where it leads
No measured lead over GPT-Live 1 in this data.
Best for
- Customer-support and in-car voice agents
- Real-time voice assistants that call tools
Watch out for
- The per-model page leaves pricing blank; the rate comes from the launch post
- The benchmark figures are cited by xAI and are not recorded here as independent scores
From benchmark to production
Building on GPT-Live 1 or Grok Voice 3.0?
Public scores rarely hold on your own data. We test both models on your real tasks, then build the agent or pipeline around the one that wins.
FAQ
GPT-Live 1 vs Grok Voice 3.0 FAQ
Which is cheaper, GPT-Live 1 or Grok Voice 3.0?
GPT-Live 1 is 38% cheaper per realtime minute than Grok Voice 3.0, $0.05 vs $0.08.
How much would 100 hours of realtime conversation cost with GPT-Live 1 or Grok Voice 3.0?
100 hours of realtime conversation comes to $300 with GPT-Live 1 and $480 with Grok Voice 3.0 at their listed rates.
Production evaluation
Choosing between GPT-Live 1 and Grok Voice 3.0?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
