text model comparison
GPT-4.1 vs Grok 4.7
GPT-4.1 and Grok 4.7 are both current text models, from OpenAI and xAI. Both cost $2 per 1M input tokens. On Arena Text, GPT-4.1 scores 1415 Elo and Grok 4.7 1443 Elo (Arena, measured October 8, 2026). GPT-4.1 has the larger context window, 1,047,576 vs 500,000 tokens.
Data verified October 12, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-12
Side by side
Standard-tier prices in effect today. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | GPT-4.1 | Grok 4.7 |
|---|---|---|
| Price per 1M input tokens | $2 | $2 |
| Price per 1M output tokens | $8 | $6 (better) |
| Cost of 10M input and 2M output tokens | $36 | $32 (better) |
| Arena Text | 1415 Elo (#36 of 39) | 1443 Elo (#31 of 39) (better) |
| GPQA Diamond | 66.9% (#35 of 37) | 92.7% (#17 of 37) (better) |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2) | 6% (#37 of 37) | 53% (#29 of 37) (better) |
| SimpleQA Verified | 31.1% (#29 of 34) | 56% (#16 of 34) (better) |
| Provider | OpenAI | xAI |
| Release date | April 14, 2025 | September 21, 2026 |
| Access | API only | API only |
| Context window | 1,047,576 tokens | 500,000 tokens |
| Max output | 32,768 tokens | Not reported |
| Input | text, image | text |
| Output | text | text |
When to choose each
GPT-4.1
Best for
- Long-context API trials using text and image inputs
Watch out for
- Not in the pinned LiveBench snapshot; its independent scores here come from Epoch AI's own GPQA Diamond, FrontierMath and SimpleQA Verified runs
Grok 4.7
Best for
- Output-heavy generation under the 200,000-token prompt line
- A cheaper alternative to the frontier tiers where 500k of context is enough
Watch out for
- The long-prompt threshold is 200,000 tokens, the lowest of any model here, and reaching it doubles input and output for the entire request
- xAI's model page does not state a maximum output for Grok 4.7, so it is recorded as unknown rather than inferred
- That page does not explicitly list image input for this model either, so it is catalogued as text-only
GPT-4.1 vs Grok 4.7 FAQ
Which is cheaper, GPT-4.1 or Grok 4.7?
Both cost $2 per 1M input tokens. For 10M input and 2M output tokens, GPT-4.1 costs $36 and Grok 4.7 $32 at standard rates.
Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, GPT-4.1 or Grok 4.7?
Grok 4.7 leads on Arena Text, 1443 Elo to 1415 Elo; Grok 4.7 leads on GPQA Diamond, 92.7% to 66.9%; Grok 4.7 leads on FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2), 53% to 6%. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.
Which has the larger context window, GPT-4.1 or Grok 4.7?
GPT-4.1 has the larger context window, 1,047,576 vs 500,000 tokens.
Related comparisons
Production evaluation
Choosing between GPT-4.1 and Grok 4.7?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
