text model comparison
GPT-4.1 vs Kimi K2 Instruct
GPT-4.1 and Kimi K2 Instruct are both current text models, from OpenAI and Moonshot Kimi. On Arena Text, GPT-4.1 scores 1415 Elo and Kimi K2 Instruct 1418 Elo (Arena, measured October 8, 2026). GPT-4.1 has the larger context window, 1,047,576 vs 128,000 tokens.
Data verified October 12, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-12
Side by side
Standard-tier prices in effect today. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | GPT-4.1 | Kimi K2 Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| Price per 1M input tokens | $2 | Not reported |
| Price per 1M output tokens | $8 | Not reported |
| Arena Text | 1415 Elo (#36 of 39) | 1418 Elo (#35 of 39) (better) |
| GPQA Diamond | 66.9% (#35 of 37) | Not measured |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2) | 6% (#37 of 37) | Not measured |
| SimpleQA Verified | 31.1% (#29 of 34) | Not measured |
| Provider | OpenAI | Moonshot Kimi |
| Release date | April 14, 2025 | July 11, 2025 |
| Access | API only | open weights |
| Context window | 1,047,576 tokens | 128,000 tokens |
| Max output | 32,768 tokens | Not reported |
| Input | text, image | text |
| Output | text | text |
When to choose each
GPT-4.1
Best for
- Long-context API trials using text and image inputs
Watch out for
- Not in the pinned LiveBench snapshot; its independent scores here come from Epoch AI's own GPQA Diamond, FrontierMath and SimpleQA Verified runs
Kimi K2 Instruct
Best for
- Private instruction-following evaluation with 128,000-token context
Watch out for
- Hosted token price and infrastructure cost are not represented; measure deployment and operating cost directly
GPT-4.1 vs Kimi K2 Instruct FAQ
Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, GPT-4.1 or Kimi K2 Instruct?
Kimi K2 Instruct leads on Arena Text, 1418 Elo to 1415 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.
Which has the larger context window, GPT-4.1 or Kimi K2 Instruct?
GPT-4.1 has the larger context window, 1,047,576 vs 128,000 tokens.
Can I run GPT-4.1 or Kimi K2 Instruct myself?
Kimi K2 Instruct is released as open weights you can run yourself; GPT-4.1 is available through its provider's API only.
Related comparisons
Production evaluation
Choosing between GPT-4.1 and Kimi K2 Instruct?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
