Skip to main content

text model comparison

GPT-4.1 mini vs Kimi K2 Instruct

GPT-4.1 mini and Kimi K2 Instruct are both current text models, from OpenAI and Moonshot Kimi. On Arena Text, GPT-4.1 mini scores 1383 Elo and Kimi K2 Instruct 1418 Elo (Arena, measured October 8, 2026). GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window, 1,047,576 vs 128,000 tokens.

Data verified October 12, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-12

Share this

Side by side

Standard-tier prices in effect today. The better value in each row is highlighted.

FactGPT-4.1 miniKimi K2 Instruct
Price per 1M input tokens$0.40Not reported
Price per 1M output tokens$1.60Not reported
Arena Text1383 Elo (#38 of 39)1418 Elo (#35 of 39) (better)
GPQA Diamond65.8% (#36 of 37)Not measured
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2)6.7% (#36 of 37)Not measured
SimpleQA Verified12.7% (#33 of 34)Not measured
ProviderOpenAIMoonshot Kimi
Release dateApril 14, 2025July 11, 2025
AccessAPI onlyopen weights
Context window1,047,576 tokens128,000 tokens
Max output32,768 tokensNot reported
Inputtext, imagetext
Outputtexttext

Scores:Arena · 2026-10-12Epoch AI · 2026-10-12

Open both in the interactive comparison

When to choose each

GPT-4.1 mini

Best for

  • Cost-sensitive long-context API evaluation

Watch out for

  • Not in the pinned LiveBench snapshot; its independent scores here come from Epoch AI's own GPQA Diamond, FrontierMath and SimpleQA Verified runs
Full GPT-4.1 mini profile

Kimi K2 Instruct

Best for

  • Private instruction-following evaluation with 128,000-token context

Watch out for

  • Hosted token price and infrastructure cost are not represented; measure deployment and operating cost directly
Full Kimi K2 Instruct profile

GPT-4.1 mini vs Kimi K2 Instruct FAQ

Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, GPT-4.1 mini or Kimi K2 Instruct?

Kimi K2 Instruct leads on Arena Text, 1418 Elo to 1383 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.

Which has the larger context window, GPT-4.1 mini or Kimi K2 Instruct?

GPT-4.1 mini has the larger context window, 1,047,576 vs 128,000 tokens.

Can I run GPT-4.1 mini or Kimi K2 Instruct myself?

Kimi K2 Instruct is released as open weights you can run yourself; GPT-4.1 mini is available through its provider's API only.

Production evaluation

Choosing between GPT-4.1 mini and Kimi K2 Instruct?

Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.

  • A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
  • Routing between models by cost and difficulty