image model comparison
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and GPT Image 2.6 Flare are both current image models, from OpenAI. Both cost $5 per 1M input tokens. On Arena Text-to-Image, GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst scores 1427 Elo and GPT Image 2.6 Flare 1384 Elo (Arena, measured November 4, 2026).
- Higher Arena Text-to-Image
- GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst1427 Elo against 1384 Elo
- Newer release
- GPT Image 2.6 FlareNov 2026 against Sep 2026
Data verified November 6, 2026 · Dataset 2026-11-06
Side by side
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and GPT Image 2.6 Flare, line by line
Prices in effect today, compared at the same tier wherever both list one. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | GPT Image 2.6 Flare |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price per 1M input tokens | $5 | $5 |
| Independent benchmarks | ||
| Arena Text-to-Image | 1427 Elo (#1 of 10) (better) | 1384 Elo (#4 of 10) |
| Arena Image Edit | 1517 Elo (#1 of 9) (better) | 1462 Elo (#4 of 9) |
| Specs | ||
| Provider | OpenAI | OpenAI |
| Release date | September 8, 2026 | November 4, 2026 |
| Access | API only | API only |
| Context window | Not reported | Not reported |
| Max output | Not reported | Not reported |
| Input | text, image | text, image |
| Output | image | image |
Scores:Arena · 2026-11-06
Charts
Against every current image model
Where GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and GPT Image 2.6 Flare land among the current models of their task, on every independent benchmark, on price and on context.
Where each stands
On Arena Text-to-Image, GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst ranks #1 and GPT Image 2.6 Flare #4 of 10 current models. Each bar is the share of current models it beats: on score, price and context.
Independent benchmarks
Arena Text-to-Image
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst:#1of 10
1,427 Elo · ahead of 100%
GPT Image 2.6 Flare:#4of 10
1,384 Elo · ahead of 67%
Arena Image Edit
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst:#1of 9
1,517 Elo · ahead of 100%
GPT Image 2.6 Flare:#4of 9
1,462 Elo · ahead of 63%
Cost
What each costs
Example workloads at each provider's listed rates, then every other rate either one lists. The cheaper figure in each row is highlighted.
Prices, like for like
At each provider's listed rates.
Price per 1M input tokens
The same price
- GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst
- $5
- GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- $5
| Workload or rate | GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | GPT Image 2.6 Flare |
|---|---|---|
| Other listed rates | ||
| 1M input tokens, cached | $1.25 | $1.25 |
| 1M output tokens, batch image output | $15 | Not listed |
| 1M input tokens, image input | $8 | $8 |
| 1M output tokens, image output | $30 | $30 |
Your own bill will differ. These figures use list prices and example workloads. The AI Model Cost Audit reviews your real usage, shortlists models that score as well for each task for less, and estimates the savings.
Launch price $100, regular price $150
Verdict
When to choose each
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst
Where it leads
- Higher Arena Text-to-Image score, 1427 Elo vs 1384 Elo
- Higher Arena Image Edit score, 1517 Elo vs 1462 Elo
Best for
- Hero imagery, detailed edits and text-heavy graphics where quality matters most
Watch out for
- OpenAI publishes no per-image price, and its GPT Image 2 calculator does not estimate 2.5 token use, so cost per image has to be measured
- OpenAI followed it with GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst on November 4, 2026, which is faster at the same token rates, although Arena still rates 2.5 Sunburst higher
GPT Image 2.6 Flare
Where it leads
No measured lead over GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst in this data.
Best for
- Fast, high-volume image generation and quick edits
Watch out for
- Arena's first ratings put it below GPT Image 2.5 Flare: 1384 against 1399 for generation and 1462 against 1482 for editing, on fewer than 4,000 votes so far
- OpenAI's pricing page lists no batch rate for 2.6 yet, while GPT Image 2.5 costs half in batch
From benchmark to production
Building on GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst or GPT Image 2.6 Flare?
Public scores rarely hold on your own data. We test both models on your real tasks, then build the agent or pipeline around the one that wins.
AI Model Cost AuditLaunch price $100, regular price $150What the audit includes
FAQ
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare FAQ
Which is cheaper, GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst or GPT Image 2.6 Flare?
Both cost $5 per 1M input tokens.
Do GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and GPT Image 2.6 Flare discount cached input?
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst lists a cached-input rate of $1.25 per 1M tokens, 75% below its standard input rate. No cached-input rate is listed for GPT Image 2.6 Flare.
Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst or GPT Image 2.6 Flare?
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst leads on Arena Text-to-Image, 1427 Elo to 1384 Elo; GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst leads on Arena Image Edit, 1517 Elo to 1462 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.
Further reading
More on GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and GPT Image 2.6 Flare
Related comparisons
- GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- Gemini 3 Pro Image vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst vs Nano Banana 2.1
- GPT Image 2.5 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- Gemini 3 Pro Image vs GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2.6 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2.5 Flare vs GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2.6 Flare vs Nano Banana 2.1
- GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- FLUX1.1 [pro] vs GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst
Production evaluation
Choosing between GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and GPT Image 2.6 Flare?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
