image model comparison
GPT Image 2.6 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
GPT Image 2.6 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst are both current image models, from OpenAI. Both cost $5 per 1M input tokens. On Arena Text-to-Image, GPT Image 2.6 Flare scores 1384 Elo and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst 1409 Elo (Arena, measured November 4, 2026).
Data verified November 6, 2026 · Dataset 2026-11-06
Side by side
GPT Image 2.6 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst, line by line
Prices in effect today, compared at the same tier wherever both list one. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | GPT Image 2.6 Flare | GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price per 1M input tokens | $5 | $5 |
| Independent benchmarks | ||
| Arena Text-to-Image | 1384 Elo (#4 of 10) | 1409 Elo (#2 of 10) (better) |
| Arena Image Edit | 1462 Elo (#4 of 9) | 1476 Elo (#3 of 9) (better) |
| Specs | ||
| Provider | OpenAI | OpenAI |
| Release date | November 4, 2026 | November 4, 2026 |
| Access | API only | API only |
| Context window | Not reported | Not reported |
| Max output | Not reported | Not reported |
| Input | text, image | text, image |
| Output | image | image |
Scores:Arena · 2026-11-06
Charts
Against every current image model
Where GPT Image 2.6 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst land among the current models of their task, on every independent benchmark, on price and on context.
Where each stands
On Arena Text-to-Image, GPT Image 2.6 Flare ranks #4 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst #2 of 10 current models. Each bar is the share of current models it beats: on score, price and context.
Independent benchmarks
Arena Text-to-Image
GPT Image 2.6 Flare:#4of 10
1,384 Elo · ahead of 67%
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst:#2of 10
1,409 Elo · ahead of 89%
Arena Image Edit
GPT Image 2.6 Flare:#4of 9
1,462 Elo · ahead of 63%
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst:#3of 9
1,476 Elo · ahead of 75%
Cost
What each costs
Example workloads at each provider's listed rates, then every other rate either one lists. The cheaper figure in each row is highlighted.
Prices, like for like
At each provider's listed rates.
Price per 1M input tokens
The same price
- GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- $5
- GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- $5
| Workload or rate | GPT Image 2.6 Flare | GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst |
|---|---|---|
| Other listed rates | ||
| 1M input tokens, cached | $1.25 | $1.25 |
| 1M input tokens, image input | $8 | $8 |
| 1M output tokens, image output | $30 | $30 |
Your own bill will differ. These figures use list prices and example workloads. The AI Model Cost Audit reviews your real usage, shortlists models that score as well for each task for less, and estimates the savings.
Launch price $100, regular price $150
Verdict
When to choose each
GPT Image 2.6 Flare
Where it leads
No measured lead over GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst in this data.
Best for
- Fast, high-volume image generation and quick edits
Watch out for
- Arena's first ratings put it below GPT Image 2.5 Flare: 1384 against 1399 for generation and 1462 against 1482 for editing, on fewer than 4,000 votes so far
- OpenAI's pricing page lists no batch rate for 2.6 yet, while GPT Image 2.5 costs half in batch
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Where it leads
- Higher Arena Text-to-Image score, 1409 Elo vs 1384 Elo
- Higher Arena Image Edit score, 1476 Elo vs 1462 Elo
Best for
- Detailed compositions, brand-consistent edits and animated GIFs where quality matters most
Watch out for
- Arena's first ratings put it below GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst: 1409 against 1427 for generation and 1476 against 1517 for editing, on fewer than 4,000 votes so far
- OpenAI's pricing page lists no batch rate for 2.6 yet, while GPT Image 2.5 costs half in batch
From benchmark to production
Building on GPT Image 2.6 Flare or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?
Public scores rarely hold on your own data. We test both models on your real tasks, then build the agent or pipeline around the one that wins.
AI Model Cost AuditLaunch price $100, regular price $150What the audit includes
FAQ
GPT Image 2.6 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst FAQ
Which is cheaper, GPT Image 2.6 Flare or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?
Both cost $5 per 1M input tokens.
Do GPT Image 2.6 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst discount cached input?
GPT Image 2.6 Flare lists a cached-input rate of $1.25 per 1M tokens, 75% below its standard input rate. No cached-input rate is listed for GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst.
Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, GPT Image 2.6 Flare or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst leads on Arena Text-to-Image, 1409 Elo to 1384 Elo; GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst leads on Arena Image Edit, 1476 Elo to 1462 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.
Further reading
More on GPT Image 2.6 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Related comparisons
- Gemini 3 Pro Image vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- Gemini 3 Pro Image vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2.5 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- GPT Image 2.5 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2.6 Flare vs Nano Banana 2.1
- GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst vs Nano Banana 2.1
- GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Production evaluation
Choosing between GPT Image 2.6 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
