Skip to main content

image model comparison

Gemini 3 Pro Image vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst

Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst are both current image models, from Google and OpenAI. Gemini 3 Pro Image is 60% cheaper per 1M input tokens than GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst, $2 vs $5. On Arena Text-to-Image, Gemini 3 Pro Image scores 1246 Elo and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst 1409 Elo (Arena, measured November 4, 2026).

Higher Arena Text-to-Image
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst1409 Elo against 1246 Elo
Lower price per 1M input tokens
Gemini 3 Pro Image$2 against $5
Newer release
GPT Image 2.6 SunburstNov 2026 against May 2026

Data verified November 6, 2026 · Dataset 2026-11-06

Share this

Side by side

Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst, line by line

Prices in effect today, compared at the same tier wherever both list one. The better value in each row is highlighted.

FactGemini 3 Pro ImageGPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Price
Price per image$0.134 (1K or 2K)Not listed
Price per 1M input tokens$2 (better)$5
Price per 1M output tokens$12Not listed
Independent benchmarks
Arena Text-to-Image1246 Elo (#8 of 10)1409 Elo (#2 of 10) (better)
Arena Image Edit1390 Elo (#7 of 9)1476 Elo (#3 of 9) (better)
Specs
ProviderGoogleOpenAI
Release dateMay 28, 2026November 4, 2026
AccessAPI onlyAPI only
Context window65,536 tokensNot reported
Max output32,768 tokensNot reported
Inputtext, imagetext, image
Outputtext, imageimage

Scores:Arena · 2026-11-06

Open both in the interactive comparison

Charts

Against every current image model

Where Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst land among the current models of their task, on every independent benchmark, on price and on context.

Where each stands

On Arena Text-to-Image, Gemini 3 Pro Image ranks #8 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst #2 of 10 current models. Each bar is the share of current models it beats: on score, price and context.

Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst among the current image models, one row per benchmark, price and context window.

Independent benchmarks

Arena Text-to-Image

Gemini 3 Pro Image:#8of 10

1,246 Elo · ahead of 22%

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst:#2of 10

1,409 Elo · ahead of 89%

Arena Image Edit

Gemini 3 Pro Image:#7of 9

1,390 Elo · ahead of 25%

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst:#3of 9

1,476 Elo · ahead of 75%

Price and context

Price per image

Gemini 3 Pro Image:#5of 5

$0.134 · cheaper than 0%

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst: Not listed

Quality against price

Arena Text-to-Image · measured November 4, 2026

Gemini 3 Pro Image scores 1,246 at $0.134 (price per image). The line joins the current models no other beats on both price and Arena Text-to-Image score; hover any point to name it.

Quality against priceArena Text-to-Image score against price for 5 image models, Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst marked.9501,0001,0501,1001,1501,2001,2501,3001,350$0.030$0.10MOST ATTRACTIVE QUADRANTMedian price $0.034Median 1,246Price per image, log scaleArena Text-to-Image (Elo)Gemini 3 Pro Image
Quality against price: the data
Arena Text-to-Image score against price for 5 image models, Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst marked.
ModelProviderPrice per imageArena Text-to-Image (Elo)
Nano Banana 2.1Google$0.0341,325
Gemini 3.1 Flash Lite ImageGoogle$0.0341,249
Gemini 3 Pro ImageGoogle$0.131,246
grok-imagine-imagexAI$0.0201,169
FLUX1.1 [pro]Black Forest Labs$0.0401,016

Cost

What each costs

Example workloads at each provider's listed rates, then every other rate either one lists. The cheaper figure in each row is highlighted.

Prices, like for like

For price per 1M input tokens, GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst costs 2.5 times as much as Gemini 3 Pro Image, at each provider's listed rates.

What Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst cost for the same work, at the rates each provider lists.
  • Price per 1M input tokens

    GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst costs 2.5× as much

    Gemini 3 Pro Image
    $2
    GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
    $5
Workload or rateGemini 3 Pro ImageGPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Example workloads
1,000 images$134 (1K or 2K)Not listed
Other listed rates
1M input tokens, cachedNot listed$1.25
1M input tokens, image inputNot listed$8
1M output tokens, image outputNot listed$30

Your own bill will differ. These figures use list prices and example workloads. The AI Model Cost Audit reviews your real usage, shortlists models that score as well for each task for less, and estimates the savings.

Launch price $100, regular price $150

Book the cost audit

Verdict

When to choose each

Gemini 3 Pro Image

Where it leads

  • Lower price per 1M input tokens, $2 vs $5
  • Also outputs text

Best for

  • Professional image generation and editing

Watch out for

  • Pricing differs by standard, batch, flex, and priority consumption

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst

Where it leads

  • Higher Arena Text-to-Image score, 1409 Elo vs 1246 Elo
  • Higher Arena Image Edit score, 1476 Elo vs 1390 Elo
  • A cached-input rate, $1.25 per 1M tokens

Best for

  • Detailed compositions, brand-consistent edits and animated GIFs where quality matters most

Watch out for

  • Arena's first ratings put it below GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst: 1409 against 1427 for generation and 1476 against 1517 for editing, on fewer than 4,000 votes so far
  • OpenAI's pricing page lists no batch rate for 2.6 yet, while GPT Image 2.5 costs half in batch

From benchmark to production

Building on Gemini 3 Pro Image or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?

Public scores rarely hold on your own data. We test both models on your real tasks, then build the agent or pipeline around the one that wins.

AI Model Cost AuditLaunch price $100, regular price $150What the audit includes

FAQ

Gemini 3 Pro Image vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst FAQ

Which is cheaper, Gemini 3 Pro Image or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?

Gemini 3 Pro Image is 60% cheaper per 1M input tokens than GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst, $2 vs $5.

Do Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst discount cached input?

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst lists a cached-input rate of $1.25 per 1M tokens, 75% below its standard input rate. No cached-input rate is listed for Gemini 3 Pro Image.

Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, Gemini 3 Pro Image or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst leads on Arena Text-to-Image, 1409 Elo to 1246 Elo; GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst leads on Arena Image Edit, 1476 Elo to 1390 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.

How do Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst differ in features?

Gemini 3 Pro Image produces text and image; GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst produces image.

Production evaluation

Choosing between Gemini 3 Pro Image and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?

Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.

  • A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
  • Routing between models by cost and difficulty