Skip to main content

image model comparison

GPT Image 2.5 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst

GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst are both current image models, from OpenAI. Both cost $5 per 1M input tokens. On Arena Text-to-Image, GPT Image 2.5 Flare scores 1399 Elo and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst 1409 Elo (Arena, measured November 4, 2026).

Higher Arena Text-to-Image
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst1409 Elo against 1399 Elo
Newer release
GPT Image 2.6 SunburstNov 2026 against Sep 2026

Data verified November 6, 2026 · Dataset 2026-11-06

Share this

Side by side

GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst, line by line

Prices in effect today, compared at the same tier wherever both list one. The better value in each row is highlighted.

FactGPT Image 2.5 FlareGPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Price
Price per 1M input tokens$5$5
Independent benchmarks
Arena Text-to-Image1399 Elo (#3 of 10)1409 Elo (#2 of 10) (better)
Arena Image Edit1482 Elo (#2 of 9) (better)1476 Elo (#3 of 9)
Specs
ProviderOpenAIOpenAI
Release dateSeptember 8, 2026November 4, 2026
AccessAPI onlyAPI only
Context windowNot reportedNot reported
Max outputNot reportedNot reported
Inputtext, imagetext, image
Outputimageimage

Scores:Arena · 2026-11-06

Open both in the interactive comparison

Charts

Against every current image model

Where GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst land among the current models of their task, on every independent benchmark, on price and on context.

Where each stands

On Arena Text-to-Image, GPT Image 2.5 Flare ranks #3 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst #2 of 10 current models. Each bar is the share of current models it beats: on score, price and context.

GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst among the current image models, one row per benchmark, price and context window.

Independent benchmarks

Arena Text-to-Image

GPT Image 2.5 Flare:#3of 10

1,399 Elo · ahead of 78%

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst:#2of 10

1,409 Elo · ahead of 89%

Arena Image Edit

GPT Image 2.5 Flare:#2of 9

1,482 Elo · ahead of 88%

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst:#3of 9

1,476 Elo · ahead of 75%

Cost

What each costs

Example workloads at each provider's listed rates, then every other rate either one lists. The cheaper figure in each row is highlighted.

Prices, like for like

At each provider's listed rates.

What GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst cost for the same work, at the rates each provider lists.
  • Price per 1M input tokens

    The same price

    GPT Image 2.5 Flare
    $5
    GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
    $5
Workload or rateGPT Image 2.5 FlareGPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Other listed rates
1M input tokens, cached$1.25$1.25
1M output tokens, batch image output$15Not listed
1M input tokens, image input$8$8
1M output tokens, image output$30$30

Your own bill will differ. These figures use list prices and example workloads. The AI Model Cost Audit reviews your real usage, shortlists models that score as well for each task for less, and estimates the savings.

Launch price $100, regular price $150

Book the cost audit

Verdict

When to choose each

GPT Image 2.5 Flare

Where it leads

  • Higher Arena Image Edit score, 1482 Elo vs 1476 Elo

Best for

  • Fast, high-volume everyday image generation

Watch out for

  • OpenAI publishes no per-image price, and its GPT Image 2 calculator does not estimate 2.5 token use, so cost per image has to be measured
  • OpenAI followed it with GPT Image 2.6 Flare on November 4, 2026, which is faster at the same token rates, although Arena still rates 2.5 Flare higher

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst

Where it leads

  • Higher Arena Text-to-Image score, 1409 Elo vs 1399 Elo

Best for

  • Detailed compositions, brand-consistent edits and animated GIFs where quality matters most

Watch out for

  • Arena's first ratings put it below GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst: 1409 against 1427 for generation and 1476 against 1517 for editing, on fewer than 4,000 votes so far
  • OpenAI's pricing page lists no batch rate for 2.6 yet, while GPT Image 2.5 costs half in batch

From benchmark to production

Building on GPT Image 2.5 Flare or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?

Public scores rarely hold on your own data. We test both models on your real tasks, then build the agent or pipeline around the one that wins.

AI Model Cost AuditLaunch price $100, regular price $150What the audit includes

FAQ

GPT Image 2.5 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst FAQ

Which is cheaper, GPT Image 2.5 Flare or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?

Both cost $5 per 1M input tokens.

Do GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst discount cached input?

GPT Image 2.5 Flare lists a cached-input rate of $1.25 per 1M tokens, 75% below its standard input rate. No cached-input rate is listed for GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst.

Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, GPT Image 2.5 Flare or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?

GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst leads on Arena Text-to-Image, 1409 Elo to 1399 Elo; GPT Image 2.5 Flare leads on Arena Image Edit, 1482 Elo to 1476 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.

Production evaluation

Choosing between GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?

Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.

  • A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
  • Routing between models by cost and difficulty