image model comparison
GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
GPT Image 2 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst are both current image models, from OpenAI. On Arena Text-to-Image, GPT Image 2 scores 1382 Elo and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst 1409 Elo (Arena, measured November 4, 2026).
Data verified November 6, 2026 · Dataset 2026-11-06
Side by side
GPT Image 2 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst, line by line
Prices in effect today, compared at the same tier wherever both list one. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | GPT Image 2 | GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price per 1M input tokens | Not listed | $5 |
| Independent benchmarks | ||
| Arena Text-to-Image | 1382 Elo (#5 of 10) | 1409 Elo (#2 of 10) (better) |
| Arena Image Edit | 1460 Elo (#5 of 9) | 1476 Elo (#3 of 9) (better) |
| Specs | ||
| Provider | OpenAI | OpenAI |
| Release date | Not reported | November 4, 2026 |
| Access | API only | API only |
| Context window | Not reported | Not reported |
| Max output | Not reported | Not reported |
| Input | text, image | text, image |
| Output | image | image |
Scores:Arena · 2026-11-06
Charts
Against every current image model
Where GPT Image 2 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst land among the current models of their task, on every independent benchmark, on price and on context.
Where each stands
On Arena Text-to-Image, GPT Image 2 ranks #5 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst #2 of 10 current models. Each bar is the share of current models it beats: on score, price and context.
Independent benchmarks
Arena Text-to-Image
GPT Image 2:#5of 10
1,382 Elo · ahead of 56%
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst:#2of 10
1,409 Elo · ahead of 89%
Arena Image Edit
GPT Image 2:#5of 9
1,460 Elo · ahead of 50%
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst:#3of 9
1,476 Elo · ahead of 75%
Cost
What each costs
Example workloads at each provider's listed rates, then every other rate either one lists. The cheaper figure in each row is highlighted.
| Workload or rate | GPT Image 2 | GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst |
|---|---|---|
| Other listed rates | ||
| 1M input tokens, cached | Not listed | $1.25 |
| 1M input tokens, image input | Not listed | $8 |
| 1M output tokens, image output | Not listed | $30 |
Your own bill will differ. These figures use list prices and example workloads. The AI Model Cost Audit reviews your real usage, shortlists models that score as well for each task for less, and estimates the savings.
Launch price $100, regular price $150
Verdict
When to choose each
GPT Image 2
Where it leads
No measured lead over GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst in this data.
Best for
- API image generation and editing
Watch out for
- Arena rates the newer GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst and Flare higher for both generation and editing
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Where it leads
- Higher Arena Text-to-Image score, 1409 Elo vs 1382 Elo
- Higher Arena Image Edit score, 1476 Elo vs 1460 Elo
- A cached-input rate, $1.25 per 1M tokens
Best for
- Detailed compositions, brand-consistent edits and animated GIFs where quality matters most
Watch out for
- Arena's first ratings put it below GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst: 1409 against 1427 for generation and 1476 against 1517 for editing, on fewer than 4,000 votes so far
- OpenAI's pricing page lists no batch rate for 2.6 yet, while GPT Image 2.5 costs half in batch
From benchmark to production
Building on GPT Image 2 or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?
Public scores rarely hold on your own data. We test both models on your real tasks, then build the agent or pipeline around the one that wins.
AI Model Cost AuditLaunch price $100, regular price $150What the audit includes
FAQ
GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst FAQ
Do GPT Image 2 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst discount cached input?
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst lists a cached-input rate of $1.25 per 1M tokens, 75% below its standard input rate. No cached-input rate is listed for GPT Image 2.
Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, GPT Image 2 or GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?
GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst leads on Arena Text-to-Image, 1409 Elo to 1382 Elo; GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst leads on Arena Image Edit, 1476 Elo to 1460 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.
Further reading
More on GPT Image 2 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
Related comparisons
- GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.6 Flare
- Gemini 3 Pro Image vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.5 Flare
- GPT Image 2.5 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2 vs GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst
- GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- Gemini 3.1 Flash Lite Image vs GPT Image 2
- GPT Image 2.6 Flare vs GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst
- Gemini 3.1 Flash Image vs GPT Image 2
- GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst vs Nano Banana 2.1
- Gemini 3 Pro Image vs GPT Image 2
- GPT Image 2 vs grok-imagine-image
Production evaluation
Choosing between GPT Image 2 and GPT Image 2.6 Sunburst?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
