Skip to main content

text model comparison

Grok 4.6 vs Grok 4.7

Grok 4.6 and Grok 4.7 are both current text models, from xAI. Both cost $2 per 1M input tokens. On Arena Text, Grok 4.6 scores 1454 Elo and Grok 4.7 1443 Elo (Arena, measured October 8, 2026). Both accept 500,000 tokens of context.

Data verified October 12, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-12

Share this

Side by side

Standard-tier prices in effect today. The better value in each row is highlighted.

FactGrok 4.6Grok 4.7
Price per 1M input tokens$2$2
Price per 1M output tokens$6$6
Cost of 10M input and 2M output tokens$32$32
Arena Text1454 Elo (#28 of 39) (better)1443 Elo (#31 of 39)
GPQA Diamond94% (#9 of 37) (better)92.7% (#17 of 37)
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2)66% (#23 of 37) (better)53% (#29 of 37)
SimpleQA Verified49.3% (#19 of 34)56% (#16 of 34) (better)
ProviderxAIxAI
Release dateAugust 12, 2026September 21, 2026
AccessAPI onlyAPI only
Context window500,000 tokens500,000 tokens
Max outputNot reportedNot reported
Inputtext, imagetext
Outputtexttext

Scores:Arena · 2026-10-12Epoch AI · 2026-10-12

Open both in the interactive comparison

When to choose each

Grok 4.6

Best for

  • Coding, agentic, and knowledge-work API evaluations with controlled long-context cost

Watch out for

  • Published token rates increase for all tokens in a request once its prompt reaches xAI's 200,000-token long-context threshold
Full Grok 4.6 profile

Grok 4.7

Best for

  • Output-heavy generation under the 200,000-token prompt line
  • A cheaper alternative to the frontier tiers where 500k of context is enough

Watch out for

  • The long-prompt threshold is 200,000 tokens, the lowest of any model here, and reaching it doubles input and output for the entire request
  • xAI's model page does not state a maximum output for Grok 4.7, so it is recorded as unknown rather than inferred
  • That page does not explicitly list image input for this model either, so it is catalogued as text-only
Full Grok 4.7 profile

Grok 4.6 vs Grok 4.7 FAQ

Which is cheaper, Grok 4.6 or Grok 4.7?

Both cost $2 per 1M input tokens. For 10M input and 2M output tokens, Grok 4.6 costs $32 and Grok 4.7 $32 at standard rates.

Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, Grok 4.6 or Grok 4.7?

Grok 4.6 leads on Arena Text, 1454 Elo to 1443 Elo; Grok 4.6 leads on GPQA Diamond, 94% to 92.7%; Grok 4.6 leads on FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2), 66% to 53%. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.

Which has the larger context window, Grok 4.6 or Grok 4.7?

Both accept 500,000 tokens of context.

Production evaluation

Choosing between Grok 4.6 and Grok 4.7?

Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.

  • A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
  • Routing between models by cost and difficulty