Skip to main content

text model comparison

Grok 4.20 vs Grok 4.3

Grok 4.20 and Grok 4.3 are both current text models, from xAI. Both cost $1.25 per 1M input tokens. On Arena Text, Grok 4.20 scores 1472 Elo and Grok 4.3 1442 Elo (Arena, measured October 8, 2026). Both accept 1,000,000 tokens of context.

Data verified October 12, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-12

Share this

Side by side

Standard-tier prices in effect today. The better value in each row is highlighted.

FactGrok 4.20Grok 4.3
Price per 1M input tokens$1.25$1.25
Price per 1M output tokens$2.50$2.50
Cost of 10M input and 2M output tokens$17.50$17.50
Arena Text1472 Elo (#22 of 39) (better)1442 Elo (#33 of 39)
GPQA Diamond89.3% (#28 of 37) (better)88.8% (#29 of 37)
FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2)44.9% (#31 of 37) (better)42.8% (#32 of 37)
SimpleQA Verified30.2% (#30 of 34)33.2% (#28 of 34) (better)
ProviderxAIxAI
Release dateMarch 10, 2026Not reported
AccessAPI onlyAPI only
Context window1,000,000 tokens1,000,000 tokens
Max outputNot reportedNot reported
Inputtext, imagetext, image
Outputtexttext

Scores:Arena · 2026-10-12Epoch AI · 2026-10-12

Open both in the interactive comparison

When to choose each

Grok 4.20

Best for

  • Comparing single-agent and multi-agent reasoning on long-context workloads

Watch out for

  • The published base rates double when requests reach the provider's 200,000-token long-context threshold
Full Grok 4.20 profile

Grok 4.3

Best for

  • General-purpose reasoning, instruction following, and agentic tool-use evaluations

Watch out for

  • The published base rates double when requests reach the provider's 200,000-token long-context threshold
Full Grok 4.3 profile

Grok 4.20 vs Grok 4.3 FAQ

Which is cheaper, Grok 4.20 or Grok 4.3?

Both cost $1.25 per 1M input tokens. For 10M input and 2M output tokens, Grok 4.20 costs $17.50 and Grok 4.3 $17.50 at standard rates.

Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, Grok 4.20 or Grok 4.3?

Grok 4.20 leads on Arena Text, 1472 Elo to 1442 Elo; Grok 4.20 leads on GPQA Diamond, 89.3% to 88.8%; Grok 4.20 leads on FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2), 44.9% to 42.8%. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.

Which has the larger context window, Grok 4.20 or Grok 4.3?

Both accept 1,000,000 tokens of context.

Production evaluation

Choosing between Grok 4.20 and Grok 4.3?

Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.

  • A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
  • Routing between models by cost and difficulty