text model comparison
Grok 4.6 vs Nemotron 3.5 Lightning
Grok 4.6 and Nemotron 3.5 Lightning are both current text models, from xAI and NVIDIA. On Arena Text, Grok 4.6 scores 1454 Elo and Nemotron 3.5 Lightning 1349 Elo (Arena, measured October 8, 2026). Nemotron 3.5 Lightning has the larger context window, 1,000,000 vs 500,000 tokens.
Data verified October 13, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-13
Side by side
Standard-tier prices in effect today. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | Grok 4.6 | Nemotron 3.5 Lightning |
|---|---|---|
| Price per 1M input tokens | $2 | Not reported |
| Price per 1M output tokens | $6 | Not reported |
| Arena Text | 1454 Elo (#33 of 49) (better) | 1349 Elo (#47 of 49) |
| GPQA Diamond | 94% (#9 of 40) | Not measured |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2) | 66% (#24 of 40) | Not measured |
| SimpleQA Verified | 49.3% (#20 of 36) | Not measured |
| Provider | xAI | NVIDIA |
| Release date | August 12, 2026 | August 11, 2026 |
| Access | API only | open weights |
| Context window | 500,000 tokens | 1,000,000 tokens |
| Max output | Not reported | Not reported |
| Input | text, image | text |
| Output | text | text |
When to choose each
Grok 4.6
Best for
- Coding, agentic, and knowledge-work API evaluations with controlled long-context cost
Watch out for
- Published token rates increase for all tokens in a request once its prompt reaches xAI's 200,000-token long-context threshold
Nemotron 3.5 Lightning
Best for
- Fast, low-cost agent subtasks such as tool calls
- Self-hosted agents on one GPU
Watch out for
- On NVIDIA's own table it trails Qwen 3.6 35B A3B on SWE-bench Verified (51.56 against 70.12)
- NVIDIA sells no per-token API for it; hosted prices come from third parties
Grok 4.6 vs Nemotron 3.5 Lightning FAQ
Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, Grok 4.6 or Nemotron 3.5 Lightning?
Grok 4.6 leads on Arena Text, 1454 Elo to 1349 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.
Which has the larger context window, Grok 4.6 or Nemotron 3.5 Lightning?
Nemotron 3.5 Lightning has the larger context window, 1,000,000 vs 500,000 tokens.
Can I run Grok 4.6 or Nemotron 3.5 Lightning myself?
Nemotron 3.5 Lightning is released as open weights you can run yourself; Grok 4.6 is available through its provider's API only.
Related comparisons
Production evaluation
Choosing between Grok 4.6 and Nemotron 3.5 Lightning?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
