text model comparison
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview vs GPT-5.5
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview and GPT-5.5 are both current text models, from Google and OpenAI. On Arena Text, Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview scores 1487 Elo and GPT-5.5 1482 Elo (Arena, measured October 8, 2026). Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context (1,050,000 and 1,048,576).
Data verified October 12, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-12
Side by side
Standard-tier prices in effect today. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview | GPT-5.5 |
|---|---|---|
| Price per 1M input tokens | Not reported | $5 |
| Price per 1M output tokens | Not reported | $30 |
| Arena Text | 1487 Elo (#8 of 39) (better) | 1482 Elo (#13 of 39) |
| GPQA Diamond | 94.4% (#6 of 37) (better) | 90.7% (#21 of 37) |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2) | 59.6% (#26 of 37) | 85.3% (#11 of 37) (better) |
| SimpleQA Verified | 73.5% (#3 of 34) (better) | 63% (#13 of 34) |
| LiveBench Overall | Not measured | 79.91 points (#1 of 5) |
| Provider | OpenAI | |
| Release date | February 19, 2026 | April 23, 2026 |
| Access | API only | API only |
| Context window | 1,048,576 tokens | 1,050,000 tokens |
| Max output | 65,536 tokens | 128,000 tokens |
| Input | text, image, audio, video | text, image |
| Output | text | text |
Scores:Arena · 2026-10-12Epoch AI · 2026-10-12LiveBench · 2026-06-25
When to choose each
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview
Best for
- Multimodal reasoning and agentic coding evaluations
Watch out for
- This preview endpoint may change before becoming stable; production use should account for its published prompt-length price tiers
GPT-5.5
Best for
- High-capability API evaluations with long context
Watch out for
- Prompts above the provider long-context threshold use higher token rates; validate the selected reasoning effort against production cost
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview vs GPT-5.5 FAQ
Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview or GPT-5.5?
Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview leads on Arena Text, 1487 Elo to 1482 Elo; Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview leads on GPQA Diamond, 94.4% to 90.7%; GPT-5.5 leads on FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2), 85.3% to 59.6%. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.
Which has the larger context window, Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview or GPT-5.5?
Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context (1,050,000 and 1,048,576).
Related comparisons
- Claude Fable 5.1 vs GPT-5.5
- Claude Fable 5 vs GPT-5.5
- Claude Mythos 5.1 vs GPT-5.5
- Claude Opus 4.8 vs GPT-5.5
- Claude Opus 5.5 vs GPT-5.5
- Claude Opus 5 vs GPT-5.5
- Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite vs Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview
- Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview vs Gemini 3 Flash Preview
- Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview vs GPT-5.4
- Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview vs Grok 4.20
Production evaluation
Choosing between Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview and GPT-5.5?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
