text model comparison
Mistral Large 4 vs Muse Spark 1.3
Mistral Large 4 and Muse Spark 1.3 are both current text models, from Mistral AI and Meta. Muse Spark 1.3 is 8% cheaper per 1M input tokens than Mistral Large 4, $1.25 vs $1.36. On Arena Text, Mistral Large 4 scores 1429 Elo and Muse Spark 1.3 1494 Elo (Arena, measured October 8, 2026). Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context (1,048,576 and 1,000,000).
Data verified October 12, 2026 · Dataset 2026-10-12
Side by side
Standard-tier prices in effect today. The better value in each row is highlighted.
| Fact | Mistral Large 4 | Muse Spark 1.3 |
|---|---|---|
| Price per 1M input tokens | $1.36 | $1.25 (better) |
| Price per 1M output tokens | $4.18 (better) | $4.25 |
| Cost of 10M input and 2M output tokens | $21.96 | $21 (better) |
| Arena Text | 1429 Elo (#34 of 39) | 1494 Elo (#5 of 39) (better) |
| SimpleQA Verified | 20% (#32 of 34) | Not measured |
| FrontierMath Tiers 1-3 (v2) | Not measured | 74.4% (#18 of 37) |
| Provider | Mistral AI | Meta |
| Release date | October 6, 2026 | September 2, 2026 |
| Access | API only | API only |
| Context window | 1,000,000 tokens | 1,048,576 tokens |
| Max output | Not reported | Not reported |
| Input | text, image | text, image, audio, video |
| Output | text | text |
When to choose each
Mistral Large 4
Best for
- European data-residency workloads that want a frontier-scale multimodal model
- Teams planning to self-host once the open weights ship
Watch out for
- This is a public preview: Mistral says the reinforcement learning run is still in flight and the model will keep changing
- Weights and their licence were not published at the time of this update, so it is recorded as API-only
- Mistral offered a temporary 50% launch discount; the recorded rates are the list prices
- Epoch AI measured 20.0% on SimpleQA Verified, low for its size, so check factual recall on your own questions
Muse Spark 1.3
Best for
- Tool-heavy agent loops where fewer calls per task matters as much as the per-token rate
- Coding agents at volume, where its coding scores and low price line up
Watch out for
- Meta’s own documentation states audio understanding is not fully supported and response quality may be degraded on requests containing audio
- The much cheaper contributor endpoint (about $0.10 / $0.20 per million) is priced that way in exchange for Meta training on your traffic. The standard tier is the rate recorded here.
- Meta’s scorecard has it trailing Claude Opus 5 on every broader agent-workflow benchmark it published, including GDPVal-AA v2, despite winning the coding rows
Mistral Large 4 vs Muse Spark 1.3 FAQ
Which is cheaper, Mistral Large 4 or Muse Spark 1.3?
Muse Spark 1.3 is 8% cheaper per 1M input tokens than Mistral Large 4, $1.25 vs $1.36. For 10M input and 2M output tokens, Mistral Large 4 costs $21.96 and Muse Spark 1.3 $21 at standard rates.
Which scores higher on independent benchmarks, Mistral Large 4 or Muse Spark 1.3?
Muse Spark 1.3 leads on Arena Text, 1494 Elo to 1429 Elo. Scores are independent evaluations, not either vendor's launch figures.
Which has the larger context window, Mistral Large 4 or Muse Spark 1.3?
Both accept about 1.05M tokens of context (1,048,576 and 1,000,000).
Related comparisons
Production evaluation
Choosing between Mistral Large 4 and Muse Spark 1.3?
Public benchmarks narrow the shortlist. We run both on your own tasks, data and cost limits, then build the routing and review controls to run the winner in production.
- A head-to-head evaluation on your real workload
- Routing between models by cost and difficulty
